Community Art Project with Artisans from Honduras

A month ago, Natalie Boyett, Jeff Thompson, Megan Miller, Aaron Wood and myself flew down to Honduras to train artisans on jewelry making and to unveil the art piece that Natalie had been working on with 51 artisans from Lempira, Honduras.

As I look back and remember that week, I am filled with different emotions. I started the week with enthusiasm and joy because I looked forward to being with the artisans. By the middle of the week I was exhausted, hot, and frustrated. Why was I thinking that everything would go as I planned? My inability to adjust and be flexible made things worse. By the end of the week, before the unveiling of the art piece, I wanted to run and hide; I was afraid of failure.

On the “Big” day, I woke up early to help Natalie with some last minute things. We both went to the location where the art piece would be unveiled. It was at a High School gym that was very nicely decorated to seat the entire Congress of Honduras. When we got there and reality began to sink in, my stomach began to make weird noises, my mind was suddenly bombarded with hundreds of thoughts, and my heart started to pound really fast. Natalie and I completely changed our plan for the unveiling of the piece at the last minute (of course) and when we were ready to leave so that we could get ready, our ride was no where to be found. We waited for about 30 minutes but he still didn’t show up, so we decided to take a motorcycle taxi. On the way to the hotel, a truck with a huge tank of water decided to spray the dirt roads. Natalie and I just looked at each other and covered ourselves as much as we could, but we still got soaked! At least we hadn’t gotten ready yet.

We (the 51 artisans, Natalie, Jeff, Megan, Aaron and myself) were invited by FUNDEIMH to a really nice lunch were the artisans would get to see the art piece before unveiling it at the Congress. By this time, although I had gotten nicely dressed, I was a total mess inside. I went into the kitchen, shut the door and prayed (why hadn’t I done this before!). I came out of that room with peace.

After lunch, we all headed to the High School. The artisans were taken to a class room and the President of the Congress, his wife, the Director of FUNDEIMH and myself were there to recognize each one of them for the hard work they had given towards the project. As we presented their diplomas, I felt so proud of them.

A few of the artisans were selected to present the art piece with Natalie to the Congress. When the time came to unveil the piece, the President of the Congress introduced me and asked me to come forward. At that moment, the video “Mujer Lenca” produced by LENUME played on 10 plasma TVs. I was thankful that this opportunity had been given to us by the Congress of Honduras.

When the video ended, I walked towards the microphone and gave my speech. I don’t remember what I said, but I do remember Jeff (my boss) smiling at me from the crowd and giving me his thumbs up. I wasn’t nervous, I was instead very confident and passionate about what I was saying.

I asked Natalie and the artisans to come forward and the Congress of Honduras stood up and gave them an applause. The artisans slowly unveiled the art piece…THEIR art piece. Then I asked Jeff to come forward and he presented his oil painting of a Lenca woman to the President of the Congress and FUNDEIMH. We were recognized and given words of gratitude on behalf of Honduras. I felt honored.

When the event was over, an artisan came to me and said “We felt so important” and with those words the community art project was concluded. This project was not about me, it was not about the NGO, and it was not about the Government, it was about the artisans and making them feel valued.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Community Art Project with Artisans from Honduras

Leave a comment