Born to Fly

For several years my passions have consisted of God, Art and Empowering the poor. Today I have a new one…an unconditional love for this little creature that has been growing inside me for the past 6 months; her name is Natalia and she is my new joy. Her existence has motivated me to create and play with art once again.

Even though I am supposed to be preparing for her arrival by reading books on parenting, taking care of a newborn, etc, etc; instead I spend my time preparing little gifts of love that will welcome her into this new world.

I have just completed her first gift: A series of paintings called “Born to Fly”

I was inspired by the geometric patterns and colors from Swedish designers Marit Lissdaniels and Angelica Utterberg:

First I drew some rough sketches of birds and butterflies, then I created vector drawings in Illustrator and finally I painted the designs on 6×6″ gessoed birch plywood pannels.

I am super happy about the results and can’t wait to hang them up in Natalias’ room! When she is old enough to understand, I will tell her that this series was made to remind her that she was born to fly!

 

3 thoughts on “Born to Fly

Leave a comment